Duke Of Edinburgh's Award

    Ryde School is a Duke of Edinburgh's Award Directly Licensed Centre, which allows us to deliver and authorise Bronze, Silver and Gold Awards. Typically, we have 25 students enrolled at Gold level, 35 at Silver and just over 50 at Bronze level.

    The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award aims to provide an enjoyable, challenging and rewarding programme of personal development for young people. The key principles are that the Award is:

    • Non-competitive
    • Flexible
    • Available to all
    • Balanced
    • Voluntary
    • Progressive
    • Focused on achievement
    • Enjoyable

    The minimum entry age for Bronze is 14 years, Silver is 15 years and Gold is 16 years. At Ryde, the Bronze Award is started at the end of Year 9 for most pupils, Silver in Year 11 and Gold is started in Year 12 (although not finished until Year 13). While it is best to start at Bronze and work up this is by no means the only way and students regularly start at Silver and Gold Award level.

    At each level participants undertake an activity from each of the following sections:

    • Volunteering
    • Physical Recreation
    • Expedition
    • Residential (Gold Award only)

    Participants undertake a weekly session after school in which they train and prepare for their expeditions. The three Bronze expeditions take place In the New Forest and the Isle of Wight, the Silver training and practice expedition takes place in Exmoor and the group return to Dartmoor for their qualifying expedition.  At Gold level, expeditions venture further afield, with regular visits to the Brecon Beacons, Snowdonia, the Lake District and the Highlands of Scotland.

    Those who complete their Gold Award are invited to St James’s Palace where they are presented to either the HRH The Duke of Edinburgh or HRH The Earl of Wessex and presented with their Award certificate.

    © 2019 Ryde School